Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik Congratulates Athletes with Biju Patnaik Award


Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday honored prominent sports personalities in the state with the Biju Patnaik award and also presented them with a total cash prize of around Rs 2.12 crore.


Patnaik, in a special function held on the occasion of the National Sports Day, congratulated all sportsmen, coaches and others related to sports activities.

“It is a proud moment for us to honor you all. I am sure that the achievements of the sports people celebrated today will motivate more young people to pursue sport as a career,” he said.

Noting that sports are an important medium for the development of youth and society, Patnaik said, “We invest in sports across the state and support the sportsman in their efforts to achieve excellence.”

Among the athletes who won the prestigious Biju Patnaik award were weightlifter Jhili Dalabehera and shooter Shriyanka Sadangi.

While Coach Bishnu Mishra received the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for Excellence in Coaching and received Rs 1 lakh, a citation and a trophy, the Biju Patnaik Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism was awarded to Benudhar Das . He received Rs 50,000, a citation and a trophy.

The Biju Patnaik Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games Promotion Award went to former Odia International cricketer, Debasis Mohanty. He received Rs 3 lakh, a citation and a trophy.

Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) won the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for Best Contribution to Sports and Games. Atanu Bhowmick, Director, RSP, received Rs 1 lakh, a citation and a trophy on behalf of the organization.

Jatani Congress MP Suresh Routray received an award from the Chief Minister on behalf of his son Siddhartha Routray, who recently climbed Mount Everest.

For their humanity and selfless act of courage and bravery, Pratap Tarei, 14, and Subhashree Rout, 10, received the Biju Patnaik Bravery Award. They received Rs 1 lakh each, a citation and a silver medal from the Chief Minister.

On this occasion, 53 deserving sportsmen and para-sportsmen from Odisha received their order of nomination for their outstanding performance in their sports disciplines and for bringing laurels to their state and nation.

Bodybuilder Chandan Kumar Sahu, para-athlete Jayanti Behera, badminton player Rutarparna Panda, para-badminton athlete Sunil Pradhan, rugby player Muna Murmu, hockey players Jiwan Kishori Toppo and Janhabi Pradhan received their orders appointment of Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera in the presence of the Chief Minister.

In addition, 291 athletes were rewarded with cash prizes for their spectacular performances at national and international level.

2022 Commonwealth Games hockey medalists Amit Rohidas and Deep Grace Ekka were also honored by the Chief Minister. While Amit received a cash reward of Rs 75 lakh for winning silver, Deep received Rs 50 lakh for winning bronze.

Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda were congratulated for their participation in CWG 2022, Padmini Rout for their participation in FIDE Chess Olympiad, Dinesh Kumar for their participation in CWG 2022 received Rs 7.5 Lakh each from the Minister of Sports, Tusharkanti Behera during the ceremony.

Similarly, chess player Saina Salonika received Rs 1.5 Lakh, football player Tankadhar Bag received Rs 2 lakh, blind chess player Soundarya Pradhan received Rs 2 lakh, wheelchair fencers, V Ramesh Rao, Rakhal Sethy received Rs 2 lakh and Malati Panure received Rs 3 lakh. from the Minister of Sports for their achievements in international platforms.

A total of Rs 2,12,82,500 was donated in cash by the Department of Sports and Youth Services.

Read all Latest sports news and recent news here


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.