Mandeep named North Zone captain, Tiwary to lead east


New Delhi: Punjab’s top hitter Mandeep Singh was named the Northern Zone team captain for the upcoming Duleep Trophy on Thursday.

The tournament is set to take place in Tamil Nadu from September 8-25.

Delhi’s veteran hitter Dhruv Shorey will be Mandeep’s backup in the first zone event.

Bengal’s seasoned racing machine, Manoj Tiwary, will lead the East Zone team, and he will be assisted by Virat Singh of Jharkhand.

Meanwhile, Indian veteran pacer Ishant Sharma has made himself available for the Ranji Trophy.

Among others, the North Zone squad also includes India playmaker Navdeep Saini, Punjab dressmaker Siddharth Kaul and India U-19 World Cup-winning captain Yash Dhull of Delhi.

North Zone Team: Yash Dhull

(Delhi), Dhruv Shorey (Vice Captain, Delhi), Manan Vohra (Uttarakhand), Mandeep Singh (Captain, Punjab), Himanshu Rana (Himachal Pradesh), Akash Vashisht (Himachal Pradesh), Anmol Malhotra (wk, Punjab), Mayank Dagar (Himachal Pradesh), Pulkit Narang

(Services), Navdeep Saini (Delhi), Siddharth Kaul (Punjab), Jagjit Singh (Uttarakhand), Nishant Sindhu (Himachal Pradesh), Qamran Iqbal (Jammu and Kashmir), Vikas Mishra (Delhi).

East zone team: Manoj Tiwary (captain), Sudip Kr Gharami, Anushtup Majumdar, Abhishek Porel (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Ishan Porel, Akash Deep (all from Bengal), Virat Singh (vice-captain), Nazim Siddiqui, Kumar Kushagra, Shahbaz Nadeem (all from Jharkhand), Mukhtar Hussain, Riyan Parag (Assam), Mani Shankar Mura Singh (Tripura), Shantanu Mishra (Odisha).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.